Archive Record

  • Email This Page
  • Send Feedback
Title UA66. Ogden College of Science & Engineering 10. Mathematics
Creator Mathematics (WKU)
Description Records created by and about the Mathematics Department.

Files are arranged in the following subseries:

1. Administration
2. Publications
Collection WKU Archives
Object Name Records
Year Range From 1906
Admin / Biog History The Math Department existed from the beginning of the establishment of Western in 1906. The first math majors graduated in 1924. From 1975 to 1983 was combined with the Computer Science Department, see UA66/16.

Department Heads:
J.R. Alexander 1907-1930
Henry Yarbrough 1930-1958
Allen Anderson 1958-1965
No department head, committee: Betty Detwiler, George Downing, Wilburn Jones, Joe Stokes, and Martha Watson 1965-1966
Robert Bueker 1966-1991 (including the years of 1975-1983)
James Porter 1991-
Bruce Kessler current in 2017
Subjects Alumni & alumnae
Western Kentucky University
Search Terms Mathematics (WKU)
Related Materials UA66/16
Catalog Number UA66.10
Dates of Creation 1906-1975, 1983-
Caption WKU Archives Logo
Extent .12 cu. ft.
Number of Images 1
Access Conditions no restrictions
Parent ID UA66
Level of Description Series
Disciplines Mathematics
Containers Publications - Brochures
Publications - Brochures
Administration - Departmental History
Administration - Reports
Administration - Events
Publications - Alumni Newsletter
Publications - MPET Newsletter
Publications - Newsletter
Publications - Mathematics Symposium